Home / News / Government appoints members of Delhi Urban Art Commission

Government appoints members of Delhi Urban Art Commission

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Ministry of Urban Development has appointed Dr. P.S.N. Rao as Chairman and Sonali Bhagwati, Sonali Rastogi, Samir Mathur and Durga Shankar Mishra as members of the Delhi Urban Art Commission.

Dr. Rao, an eminent urban planner is currently Head of the Department of Housing, School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi. He studied urban management in Canada. Bhagwati and Rastogi are practicing architects while Samir Mathur is a landscape architect. Durga Shankar Mishra is Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Urban Development.

Delhi Urban Art Commission, set up in 1974 is mandated with preserving, developing and maintaining the aesthetic quality of urban and environmental design with in Delhi. The Commission scrutinizes various building and engineering proposals from the perspective of city aesthetics and advices urban local bodies like the Delhi Development Authority, New Delhi Municipal Committee and the three Municipal Corporations of Delhi. It also initiates studies on development and beautification of any areas in Delhi.


Leave a Reply