Home / News / Saint-Gobain Transparence 2014 winners

Saint-Gobain Transparence 2014 winners

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Saint-Gobain Glass’s Transparence 2014, the annual design competition held for students of architecture and design, conducted its 9th edition’s Grand Finale in Chennai in February. The theme of the competition was a “Metro Station Complex”.

The event was supported by Ms. Gita Balakrishnan run ‘Ethos’. The competition originally being held for Indian students since 2005 was made open for the SAARC nations to participate since 2013. The eminent jury comprised Ar. Sanjay Kanvinde from Kanvinde Rai and Chaudhary Associates, Ar. Sohrab Dalal from DPA Design Plus and Ar. Rohit Saxena from Perkins Eastman.

SPA Bhopal, Swadheet Chaturvedi, Vipul Jain and Aditya Singh emerged as the winners, the National Runner Up was IPS Academy of Architecture, Indore students Prasanna Purohit, Supriya Dongre and Gaurav Suryavanshi and Vishus Narayan, Fidal Roshi and Varghese M Cherian of SPA, Vijayawada stood third nationally. BUET, Bangladesh won the SAARC edition of Transparence.

The occasion saw the launch of the 10th edition of Transparence- 2015 to commemorate 350th Anniversary of Saint-Gobain.

Saint-Gobain also gave away scholarships for students in the field of architecture. Six students from across India and one Indian national based out of Greece received Rs. 1,00,000 each worth scholarships to pursue activities in the field of architecture ranging from projects on designing innovative, pragmatic and socially relevant prototypes of Cultural Material for the disabled (differently-abled) , a Disaster Management Strategy in Uttarakhand to a research based sustainable design for a toilet cum garbage collection unit in urban areas, on integration of urban and peri urban agriculture with climate change action plans.

Leave a Reply